What is Kosher & Who Eats It?
Kosher is a term originally used to describe that which is “fit” and “proper”.
Most often, it is used to denote foods that are permitted to be eaten by people who observe dietary laws.
Aside from Jewish consumers, many Seventh Day Adventists, Fundamental Christians, Moslems, vegetarians, people with lactose intolerance, and those prone to certain food allergies purchase kosher products for religious and/or health reasons.
Foods are considered kosher when prepared in accordance with the Jewish dietary laws. These laws are complex; supervision by a competent Rabbi is required. However, in a general sense, two issues must be considered:
Foods may be rendered non-kosher for a variety of reasons:
Species of animals (kosher animals chew their cud and have split hoofs)
Improper slaughtering or processing procedures
Mixing of meat and dairy ingredients
Use of ingredients from non-kosher sources
Preparation of food with non-kosher utensils or equipment
Lack of proper certification
READ MORE BELOW